chamber-1-1600x294 Annual Meeting & Awards - Gilmer County Chamber of Commerce




The 2020 Gilmer Chamber Annual Meeting was held at the First Baptist Church on January 16.

Before the business of the day, Al Lopez, CEO of Alma Coffee in Canton delivered an inspiring keynote speech about progress, hard work, and doing right by your employees. Lopez' daughter and son-in-law hosted a coffee bar at the Annual Meeting and served their most popular blends. 

IMG 1713 min


Member of the Year

EC8A1603 min

The 2019 Member of the Year award was given to Tiffany Watson with Endless.Ink. 

Business of the Year

EC8A1629 min

The 2019 Business of the Year award was presented to Chattahoochee Technical College.


Community Champion 

EC8A1614 min

The Inagural Community Champion award was given to Dr. Shanna Downs, GCCSS Superintendent.

Citizen of the Year

EC8A1611 min 

Mr. Steven Purvis, 2018 Citizen of the Year, announced this year’s Citizen of the Year, Mrs. Merle Naylor. For more information on the Citizen of the Year program, please visit our Citizen of the Year page.

Chamber Successes

Following the announcement of the Citizen of the Year, the Chamber’s 2019 Chairman of the Board, John Marshall, highlighted some of the successes of 2019. The Chamber also presented those directors leaving the board with a token of appreciation. Those board members who will be greatly missed are:

  • Beth Bennett
  • Michelle Bentley
  • Steven Purvis
  • Trent Sanford

The Chamber also recognized it’s 2020 Board of Directors:

  • Chair, Chris Wang
  • Chair-elect/Vice Chair, Bobby McNeill
  • Past Chair, John Marshall
  • Secretary/Treasurer, Jason Smith
  • Donna Reece
  • Mark West
  • Roberto Murillo
  • Jared Arrant
  • Jason Smith
  • Andy Ashurst
  • Betsy Kelly
  • Jill Chastain
  • Jennifer Futch
  • Ashley Phillips

The board of directors then took their oath of office before John Marshall passed the gavel to 2020 Chair Chris Wang who spoke about the upcoming year.

EC8A1459 Min
EC8A1603 Min
EC8A1611 Min
EC8A1614 Min
EC8A1628 Min
EC8A1629 Min
EC8A1655 Min
EC8A1660 Min
EC8A1661 Min
EC8A1663 Min
EC8A1666 Min
EC8A1668 Min
EC8A1670 Min
EC8A1671 Min
EC8A1674 Min
EC8A1676 Min
EC8A1678 Min
EC8A1679 Min
EC8A1681 Min
EC8A1686 Min
EC8A1687 Min
EC8A1689 Min
EC8A1692 Min
EC8A1707 Min
EC8A1711 Min
EC8A1712 Min
EC8A1716 Min
IMG 1708 Min
IMG 1713 Min
IMG 1716 Min
IMG 1729 Min
IMG 1737
IMG 1743
IMG 1750
IMG 1751
IMG 1760 Min
IMG 1774 Min
IMG 1787 Min
IMG 1788 Min
IMG 1791 Min
IMG 1798 Min
IMG 1800 Min
IMG 1805 Min
IMG 1809
IMG 1814
IMG 1826
IMG 1830
IMG 1834
IMG 1850
IMG 1867

Annual Meeting and Awards Recent Blogs

No items found.

>>View all Annual Meeting and Awards Blog Posts